New Palace, St. James’s Park

Auguste Charles Pugin (1762 - 1832)
Wallis

Coloured engraving

published 20 November 1827
  • About the work
    Location
    Country: UK
    City: London
    Place: Government Hospitality, Lancaster House
  • About the artist
    Augustus Charles Pugin fled to England in the 1790s, either because of his Royalism or on account of a duel. He seems to have landed in Wales, where he became a friend of the architect John Nash (1752–1835). He worked as a general artist, providing designs for Nash and painting scenery, before moving to London and studying at the Royal Academy Schools. He first exhibited architectural designs at the Academy in 1799 and, from 1807, began to exhibit at the Old Watercolour Society. Pugin worked on several projects for Rudolf Ackermann, including plates for The Microcosm of London and The Abbey Church of Westminster (1811–12). During this period he set up a school of architectural drawing and began to publish his own works. He was the father of A. W. N. Pugin, who designed the interiors of the Houses of Parliament.
  • Explore
    Places
    Subjects
    Materials & Techniques
  • Details
    Title
    New Palace, St. James’s Park
    Date
    published 20 November 1827
    Medium
    Coloured engraving
    Dimensions
    height: 27.00 cm, width: 46.00 cm
    Acquisition
    Purchased from Harrington Bros., April 1980
    GAC number
    14981